Connecticut Patent of the Day: The Anti iPhone

Boy I can just barely hold back my giddiness today. The new iPhone is being released!!!! Too bad I have a job, a family, a life beyond electronic gadgets. (I’m proud to say I’ve never sent a text message!) I just might find myself standing in line FOR DAYS waiting for this thing……… of course then I would be like so many others with my nose buried in the high res  screen  while life goes on (in high res might I add) all around me……Here’s a riff I composed inspired by Janis Joplin and “Mercedes-Benz”

Oh Lord won’t you buy me an iPhone today

My friends all have em, but I can’t play

Worked hard all my life, for my rewards I can’t wait

Oh Lord won’t you buy me an iPhone today.

The cell phone I carry is really quite lame

Yes I can make phone calls but can’t play no games

Oh Lord won’t you buy me an iPhone today……
Phew, that rant of sarcasm felt good this morning. Now onto the business at hand. Here’s the Connecticut invention of the day. A “Toy Speaking Phone” from John Conklin and the Gong Bell Manufacturing Company of East Hampton in 1929. My , my, my have phones come a long way…..for good or bad I ask?

Leave a Reply

