Connecticut Patent of the Day: Smokin’ Joe and the Sweet Science

Smokin Joe's Left Hook

Sad news this morning as I heard of the death of boxing great Smokin’ Joe Frazier. I’m not a huge boxing fan today, but back in the 70’s when I was a kid and heavyweight boxing was at its pinnacle I was. I remember many a time watching the big fights on  our  black and white TV with my father. Howard Cosell calling the fights in his own classic style as  Ali, Frazier,  Foreman, Norton and others  duked it out in the ring.

But Joe Frazier stood out. First of all he had the great nickname: “Smokin’ Joe”. I mean has there ever been a better nickname in sports history? The blue collar fighter, not big in stature, but big in heart. Never backed down, never gave in. And that huge left hook that seemed to come out of nowhere. Watch the highlights of the 71 title fight against Ali and watch what that hook did to the great Ali…..

Flippin around on the TV last night I came upon the movie “Rocky”. Best sports movie of all time(where Frazier has a cameo). Once I start watching it I can’t stop no matter what else may be on. The training and fight scenes, the music and that last final scene with Rocky yelling out for Adrian and telling her he loves her as the film ends gets me every time. I remember seeing that movie when I was like 10 years old, the crowds in the theater cheering wildly for Rocky as the championship fight went on. Say what you want about Sylvester Stallone as an actor. If that story and his performance doesn’t get you, with its uniquely American theme of  down on his luck blue collar guy who gets a chance to make it big, then somethings wrong.

Anyway, I’ve rambled on far too much. So here’s the  Connecticut Patent of the day, with a respectful nod towards the “Sweet Science” and the greatness of Smokin’ Joe Frazier:

Henry O.Costello, 5/14/1946, Exercising Device

 

Leave a Reply

