Connecticut Patent of the Day:The End of Summer

Well, it’s about that time of year. Summer is ending, cool weather approaching, time for the annual “winter beard” as I call it. Since I can’t grow much on top of my head I may as well try some on my face. I’m still trying to decide which look to go for:

John Brown:

A Connecticut Inspired Beard

Lanny McDonald “Stash”:

Great Player, Great Stash

Jeremiah Johnson:

The Mountain Man Look

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Which leads me eventually to the Patents of the Day: “Improvements in Mustache Guards“. First from Albert Furniss of Meriden in 1877 a version which attaches to a spoon:

How Do I Eat Captain Crunch With This?

Next, from Charles H. Burrows of Willimantic in 1878 one that attaches to a rim of a cup:

No "Twice the Flavor for Half the Price" With This.......

One thought on “Connecticut Patent of the Day:The End of Summer

Leave a Reply

