Connecticut Patent of the Day-“Veggie Beer”-Yum!

A Vintage CT Brew

For whatever reason the older I get the more I enjoy a cold beer on a hot day. Take yesterday for example, 90 degrees when I got home, so of course I mowed the lawn. (Using my push mower since my tractor is in need of repair…) By the time I was done the “High Life” was calling if you know what I mean……Which leads me to today’s Connecticut patent.

Something unusual this time. A recipe for “Improvement in Vegetable Beer” for which Hartford’s Simeon Whiton got a patent in 1846. I’ve known of this recipe for a while now. Some day I vow to make it, the ingredients are somewhat unusual for the beer including peanuts, sweet corn and of course pipsissewa.  I don’t know if it would quench my thirst after a hot day in the summer sun, but it sure would be something different!

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “Connecticut Patent of the Day-“Veggie Beer”-Yum!

Leave a Reply

