Iron Man

While doing some research for an upcoming invention program in Waterford I came across this creation from Charles S.  Whipple. I’m sure if you have ever visited a historic house museum you’ve seen an old flat iron being used as a doorstop, or maybe you’ve got one collecting dust around your house. They’re heavy! And since in the words of Mr. Whipple “few women have strength enough to use them” I present to you what I think is a pretty ingenious idea……The “Improvement in Devices to Aid in Ironing Clothes” I’ll leave it to the reader to figure out how it was used……..

patents_003

3 thoughts on “Iron Man

    • Hi Mr. Whipple:

      Sorry, I don’t have any genealogy info on him. The Whipple name as I am sure you know is quite common in CT and New England history. One of my colleagues, Sally Whipple, is Director of the Old State House Museum here in Hartford.

Leave a Reply

